Wednesday Evening Class

Transform your Life through Meditation & Mindfulness


Series three: Death & Beyond

The most basic fact of our life is that it will end. Death will come to all of us and there is nothing we can do to avoid it. But what happens next? Do we simply cease to exist our does our consciousness and individuality continue its journey in some way? In this series we will explore the Buddhist understanding of what death is and what happens afterwards. In addition to the talks there will be guided meditations to give us an opportunity to explore the ideas experientially as well as intellectually, and plenty of time for questions and discussion.

While there is no need to be a Buddhist to participate in these classes, in this series we will look at aspects of the Buddhist world view. For those who are more interested in simply learning to keep a peaceful and happy mind on a day to day level and deal with everyday problems like stress, worry, lack of self-confidence etc the Monday evening or Wednesday morning classes might be more suitable.

April 27                            You are not your body

May 4                               Death & rebirth

May 11                               The law of karma

May 18                              The wheel of life

May 25                             Ethics: a Buddhist approach

June 1                               The trap of ego

June 8                              The path to true freedom




Series Four: The Path of Compassion

We are living in difficult and uncertain times. As our own life becomes harder it is easy to shrink back close off to others. How can we make room in our hearts for the plight of others when we are struggling with our own life? But contracting our heart is not the solution: obsessive self-concern is actually the problem. A completely different approach is that of the Buddhist ideal of the Bodhisattva, someone who is on the path to full enlightenment and is motivated by the compassionate wish to help all living beings. A Bodhisattva greets every situation with a courageous open heart, and rather than shrinking back from difficult people and situations, uses every encounter to deepen his or her compassion, wisdom and inner strength. A Bodhisattva’s way of life consists of the practice of six special qualities, known as the six perfections: giving, moral dicipline, patience, joyous effort, meditative concentration and wisdom, which will be the topics of this series of six classes. 

Suitable for everyone, beginners and more experienced students alike..


June 13         The wealth of giving

June 20        The firm ground of moral discipline

June 29        The beauty of patience

July 6            The joy of effort

July 13           The bliss of concentration

July 20          The inner light of wisdom





Wednesdays 7:30-9.00 p.m.

Please arrive a few minutes early to allow time to register. Everyone is welcome to stay for refreshments after class.


Ganden Buddhist Centre, 5 North Bridge, Halifax  



£6 per class/ £4 concessions. £35 for seven week series/ £25 concessions.

Free with all membership cards.

To book in advance (optional) click here 


Suitable for everyone.

Covid safety measures in place at Ganden Centre. 

  • Please try to maintain 1.5m social distancing in the building.
  • As Covid symptoms can vary, if you feel unwell in any way or have been in contact with anyone with confirmed Covid, please do not attend.

Thank you for your patience and understanding.